

MEDIA RELEASE

7 December 2018

New appointments to lift the Fair Work Commission

AUSTRALIAN Resources and Energy Group AMMA welcomes the appointment of six new members to the Fair Work Commission and the promotion of Commissioner Tony Saunders to Deputy President.

Minister for Women, Jobs and Industrial Relations Kelly O'Dwyer today <u>announced</u> the appointments of Gerard Boyce, Bryce Cross, Nicholas Lake, Amanda Mansini and Janine Young to Deputy President and Leyla Yilmaz as Commissioner, in addition to Mr Saunders' elevation, significantly bolstering the stocks of Australian's national workplace tribunal.

"The Australian Government has today appointed a number of high quality people from a strong mixture of legal and business backgrounds, all of whom will make an exemplary contribution to the Fair Work Commission," AMMA Chief Executive Steve Knott said.

"These appointees will hopefully assist in lifting the performance of the Fair Work Commission in key areas of employer concern including more timely enterprise agreement approvals and adverse action claims being deal with by tribunal members, not public servant conciliators.

"Notably half of today's new appointees are women. We congratulate Kelly O'Dwyer, who is both Minister for Jobs and Industrial Relations as well as Minister for Women, in continuing the recent appointment of high quality women to the tribunal which has significantly improved its gender balance."

AMMA especially congratulates its current Director Workplace Relations and Legal Counsel, Amanda Mansini, on her appointment to Deputy President of the Fair Work Commission.

Ms Mansini joined AMMA in December 2011 after four years as a senior associate with highly regarded law firm Herbert Smith Freehills. Prior to that she gained further experience working as an associate at the Australian Industrial Relations Tribunal and as a solicitor with McCullough Robertson.

During her time with AMMA Ms Mansini has led the group's high-profile national employee relations team.

"Amanda Mansini joined AMMA seven years ago with a wealth of legal and workplace relations experience, and has since gone on to deliver exceptional support and expertise to AMMA's national membership," AMMA Chief Executive Steve Knott said.

"In addition to holding a senior executive leadership role at AMMA, Amanda has led high profile legal cases, been involved in international and domestic workplace relations policy development and delivered workplace relations strategy, planning and execution for a wide array of employers, ranging from SME businesses to blue-chip companies. This includes many of Australia's largest resources and energy projects.

"Amanda will make a significant contribution to positive workplace relations outcomes in the Australian community in her new role as Deputy President of the Fair Work Commission."

AMMA also congratulates another member of its former staff alumni, Gerard Boyce, on his appointment to Deputy President of the Fair Work Commission. A highly respected barrister, Mr Boyce was AMMA's New South Wales State Manager from 2005-2006 before his admission to the NSW Bar.

Attached next page is analysis of the FWC's composition following today's appointments.

MEDIA CONTACT: Tom Reid, 0419 153 407



Attachment: Composition of the Fair Work Commission (7-12-2018)

PRESIDENTIAL (Total 25)		
Justice IJK Ross AO	Р	
A Hatcher	VP	
J Catanzariti AM	VP	
JM Hamberger	DP	
RS Hamilton	DP	
PJ Sams AM	DP	
A Booth	DP	
IC Asbury	DP	
VP Gostencnik	DP	
J Kovacic	DP	
GE Bull	DP	
M Binet	DP	
WR Clancy	DP	
LE Dean	DP	
P Anderson	DP	
A Colman	DP	
I Masson	DP	
A Beaumont	DP	
A Millhouse	DP	•
T Saunders	DP	
G Boyce	DP	
B Cross	DP	
A Mansini	DP	
N Lake	DP	
J Young	DP	

COMMISSIONERS (Total 20)	
AL Cribb	
PJ Spencer	
BD Williams	
DS McKenna	
IW Cambridge	
PJ Hampton	
MP Bissett	
CF Simpson	
T Lee	
S Booth	
B Riordan	
D Gregory	
LAT Johns OAM	
NP Wilson	
T Cirkovic	
C Platt	
K Harper-Greenwell	
J Hunt	
S McKinnon	
L Yilmaz	

Total Coalition = 24

Total ALP = 21

KEY	
Italics, bold	Denotes female appointees
	ALP appointee
	Coalition appointee

Analysis

- (46) Forty-six FWC members when the ALP left office on 7 September 2013
- (45) Forty-five FWC members after today's appointments
- (25) Twenty-five FWC members are at the Presidential level
- (20) Twenty FWC members are at the Commissioner level
- (18) Eighteen out of (45) forty-five FWC members are female